Year: 2009 Number: 1

RESOLUTION BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY OF CLEVELAND, MISSISSIPPI CALLING FOR REVIEW AND REVISION OF INTERNATIONAL ADMISSIONS POLICIES.

WHEREAS, international students bring a cultural richness and diversity to Delta State University that is vital to this campus in our ever-globalizing society; and

WHEREAS, efficiency and simplicity in admissions procedures leads to increased credit hour production and tuition gains; and

WHEREAS, the current international admissions policy is unnecessarily complicated and demands an excessive upfront fee of \$1239 even before an international student is admitted, and therefore discourages international students who show an interest in matriculating at Delta State University.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY OF CLEVELAND, MISSISSIPPI

That:

SECTION 1. An International Student Admissions Taskforce shall be formed, comprised of one representative from The Delta State University Office of Admissions, two representatives as determined by the Academic Council, and two representatives as determined by the University Cabinet. In addition, two faculty representatives will be selected by the President of the Faculty Senate.

SECTION 2. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this taskforce shall be charged with the review and comparison of the international admissions policies of all 8 universities composing the Mississippi IHL system. This taskforce will also review, revise and recommend changes to Delta State University's international admissions policies in order to encourage international enrollment on this campus.

SECTION 3. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be presented to Academic Council immediately, and that the International Student Admissions Taskforce will distribute its findings, recommendations, and revisions to all stakeholders at Delta State University by no later than December 1, 2009

SPONSORS: Senators S. Swaminathan and D. Mitchell

ADOPTED: September 10, 2009

Patricia Roberts President, Faculty Senate